Biology Dept. Announces 2011-2012 Yeatman Award Recipients

Yeatman Award Recipients 2011

Ecology and Biodiversity seniors Keri Bryan and Katie Qualls were presented with the 2011-2012 Harry C. Yeatman Award in Biology at the annual Department Junior-Senior Event on October 2nd.

Keri Bryan is studying the ecology and conservation of the land snail fauna on the southern Cumberland Plateau. She is testing the hypothesis that exurban development changes the gastropod fauna, with consequences for calcium-dependent vertebrates like songbirds. This work, conducted with Maggie Shipley (C'11), won the “best student paper” at Scholarship Sewanee and was presented as an oral paper at the Association of Southeastern Biologists meeting in the spring of 2011.

Katie Qualls is examining how plant community composition changes as a function of environmental gradients on the Domain.  She is analyzing the data from series of permanent plant community plots that she and Nathan Bourne (C'11) helped to establish on the Domain last year.   Her work in characterizing plant community diversity will be incorporated into the manuscript being prepared by the Sewanee Herbarium for the flora of the Domain.

The Harry C. Yeatman Award in Biology was in established in honor of Professor Yeatman and is given to a senior who has exhibited leadership and inpiration in the study of biology.