View More

Harry C. Yeatman Award in Biology

The establishment of the Harry C. Yeatman Award in Biology was prompted by Angela Scheuerle, a Biology major in the class of 1984, in October of 1985.  Students who receive this award are chosen for their scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and an appreciation for biology as a discipline which are characteristics exemplary of Dr. Yeatman’s life and career.  Dr. Yeatman matriculated to Sewanee to teach biology in 1950.  During his tenure as the Kenan Professor of Biology, Dr. Yeatman taught courses in zoology, comparative anatomy, vertebrate embryology, histology, parasitology, ecology and botany.  After his retirement in 1981, he remained active in the Sewanee community and in the research of all things in nature.                          


                                                                    Harry C. Yeatman Award Recipients 





Click on the names of the recipients below to learn more about student research and other academic, leadership endeavours.  

Meg Armistead      Ashley Block   Keri Bryan     Linnea Carver      Rex Davis      Angelica De Freitas      

Vincent Leray    Stephanie Loria     Callie Oldfield   Katie Qualls   Eileen Schaeffer  April Shi